What's new

Closed Getting better in chess: the critical mistake to avoid

Status
Not open for further replies.

_GRANDMASTER_

Forum Expert
Reaction
By: WGM Natalia Pogonina

Every day I get a lot of fan mail (thanks, guys!), and many of the messages are dedicated to the evergreen subject “how do I get better in chess?” I am trying to do my best to offer individual advice to everyone. However, there is a very widespread case which can be addressed in this column. Let me quote one of the recent e-mails first (slightly edited for anonymity purposes):
I would like to ask you a question about learning the right way of thinking in chess. I hope you have time to answer me. If not, I'll understand.
I'm an amateur and I'm working a lot on chess trying to improve. Last week I read the book The Improving Chess Thinker by Dan Heisman. It focuses on our thought processes in chess. I have the impression now that the way I think during the game is not always as structured and disciplined as it should be. Sometimes I move without looking closely enough at the consequences.
Now my question to you is: how do you think we (amateurs) can develop a correct way of thinking during the game? Did you receive a special training for this? What would your advice be?
I hope I don't waste your time with these questions.
And here’s my answer (also with small edits and additions):
If you really want to become better in practical chess, you shouldn't fall for the typical amateur's mistake. That is, believing that chess requires some special knowledge, an incredible IQ, a phenomenal memory, etc. It helps, but isn't a must-have unless you're aiming at 2700+ FIDE level.
As I have seen at Chess.com and other chess websites, the typical problem is that many people are wasting too much time reading books on theory, middlegame, etc. without playing chess often enough. And then there is the classic story: